Backed by a powerful integration with Azure Active Directory, you streamline the management of employee data within your Email Experiences environment. Automatically create and delete users in real-time and ensure employee information is kept up-to-date with no added effort.
The integration can be set up in under five minutes. Simply follow the steps outlined below.
Please Note: In order to use this integration, you must have an Azure AD P1 or P2 license in order to use this integration.
Log into the Azure Active Directory portal.
Search for Enterprise Applications.
Select + New Application.
Select Non-Gallery application.
Create a name for your new app. We recommend using Terminus Email User Provisioning.
Once the app is created, choose Provisioning.
Switch the provisioning mode to Automatic.
Navigate back in Email Experiences and copy the API key and tenant URL from your Email Experiences Account Settings --> Integrations page.
Back in Active Directory, paste your API key and tenant URL into the appropriate location.
Select Test Connection.
From the Terminus Email User Provisioning page, change the user provisioning status to "On" and click "Save" at the top of the page. This will initiate the creation of the users that you have selected (or will select).
Navigate to the Users and Groups section to select the users and groups you wish to sync to Email Experiences.
When you sync Groups from Azure AD, Terminus will bucket users into those same Employee Groups in your Email Experiences account. Note: The process of creating Groups and assigning employees to those Groups can take up to 24 hours to reflect in the Email Experience app.
Once enabled, if a change is made within Azure, the update will automatically get pulled into Email Experiences within 30 minutes.
Please note the accepted Azure User Mappings below:
Q: How do I connect my AD instance to Email Experiences?
We have step-by-step instructions on how to connect your Azure Active Directory Integration help article.
Q: Will Email Experiences employee data be updated when changes are made to AD?
A: Yes, if employee data that is synced with Email Experiences is updated in AD, those changes will be reflected in Email Experiences. This typically takes less than 24 hours.
Q: How long does it take for Email Experiences to reflect changes made to AD?
A: Changes will be reflected in less than 24 hours, but only for the fields that are being sent to Email Experiences (i.e. first name, last name, title, etc).
Q: Will employee's data from AD override information they've manually updated in Email Experiences?
A: No. Signature Fields which are edited by a user or admin through the Email Experiences UI are treated as preferred values, and will not be overridden by data from AD. If a Signature Field has not been updated by a user, it will continue to stay in sync with AD values.
Q: Will Email Experiences automatically delete users when they are deleted in AD?
A: Anytime an employee that is synced with Email Experiences is removed from the provisioning scope of the Marketplace app, they will be deleted in Email Experiences within 24 hours. Users that are hard deleted from Azure Active Directory that have an existing account will be removed from Email Experiences within 30 days of the soft delete.
Q: What happens when an employee is removed from a Security or O365 group that is synced with Email Experiences?
A: If an employee that is enrolled in a Security or O365 group is removed, they will also be removed from Email Experiences.
Example: I have created an "Email Experiences" Security Group in AD that is synced with Email Experiences and I remove Bob from that group. Bob will be removed from Email Experiences since he no longer is enrolled in that group.